Fighting for joy…when you’re in full time ministry in a country that’s not your own: an interview with Natalie Jones

On today’s blog post I’m very excited to be interviewing my dear friend Natalie! We were actually put in touch by a mutual friend about two years ago and since then we have become firm friends! Natalie was in Paris with me (we used to meet up to pray once a month for our churches, the city and country!). She’s also recently moved back to the UK and so I thought it would be fun to interview her and see what she had to say about her time in Paris, and to encourage my readers who are either in a country that isn’t their own, or full time ministry, or both!

Me: So Natalie, where do you come from, what do you do, and can you please tell us one random fact about yourself?

Natalie: Hi Helen! I come from a town in the Midlands called Nuneaton but I often tell people Warwickshire instead because it sounds a little more fancy (Jodie always tells me off). Up until July this year I was the Children’s, Youth and Student Worker at Saint Michael’s Church, Paris but I’ve recently moved back to the UK and living in Yorkshire. One random fact…I love drinking cups of tea with you. It’s much overdue though we must arrange something soon. Sorry, i’m getting side-tracked.

Me: So you’ve just moved to Harrogate. As my readers know (if they’ve been paying attention), before that you were in Paris. Why?

Natalie: I was in Paris working for Saint Michael’s where I was responsible for everyone under 35 (approximately!). I organised activities for our children and young people’s groups, our student group and during my second year Saint Michael’s began to work closely with other English-speaking churches in and around Paris. 

Me: What would you say youth and children’s ministry looks like in Paris? Is it different to the UK at all?

Natalie: This area of ministry (in an English-speaking context) in Paris looks like a big challenge! It looks like people travelling from far away to come to church. It looks like other activities and events clashing and taking priority. It requires a lot of patience and dedication because there are times when you don’t feel like you’re getting anywhere or achieving anything. The biggest difference to that of the UK is that the church is targeting a specific group of people – English-speaking. 

Me: What were the things you loved?

Natalie: There are so many things that I loved about this role. I loved creating new events that Saint Michael’s had never done before, like a Holiday Club and student retreats. I loved seeking what God wanted for this ministry and then living it out – like unity between us and other churches. The Anglophone Youth event that we named FUSION was such a wonderful experience. It reached young people who had never seen church in this way and showed them how exciting it can be. It also encouraged people to step forward into leadership roles which was fantastic to see. 

Me: What were the struggles and challenges? (This can be of ministry, living in France, anything!)

Natalie: Challenges, challenges – communicating effectively in French, being far from close family and friends and the French bureaucracy. 

Me: What do you think the future might look like for youth and children’s work in France?

Natalie: I believe the future of these ministries lies in the English-speaking churches working together to encourage children and young people that there is a reason to follow God and trust in Jesus. Like many others, France is tough nation to be a Christian and church leaders need to pray and seek God’s wisdom.

Me: Why have you moved back to the UK?

Natalie: I moved back to the UK really only for one reason – to follow my calling and work with young people. After studying at Oasis College in London for Youth Work and Ministry Grad Dip I felt certain this was the area that God was calling me into. My crazy move to Paris was filled with wonderful experiences working cross-church in several different areas but not specifically youth ministry. It was a really difficult decision because I adore Paris and I had a great community all around me. I guess that sometimes you just need to take risks and do what you won’t regret.  

Me: At some point in ministry, we all feel like giving up. What do you do when you feel like that? How do you keep fighting for joy?

Natalie: How do I keep fighting for joy? Tough question. Helen, you’re so good at making me think! In all honesty, I believe that joy is a fruit of the spirit and if we’ve asked God to come and make his home in us then we can continually have the joy of the Lord. Of course, day to day it is not always that easy and so remembering that there is a difference between happiness and joy often really helps me. It is impossible for us to always be happy but we can always have a deep resounding joy inside. 

On a even more practical note, I’d encourage your readers to pray that God will give you something every day that makes you joyful. Just yesterday, I was coming out of the gym and I held a door open for an elderly lady. Literally held the door. Nothing special at all. Her words shocked me, ‘You are unique’ she said. ‘Girls today can be really scary, and have such attitudes but you’re really special – thank you’. I was blown away. I hadn’t done anything outstanding or extraordinary but to this lady it was more than she needed or expected. It left me longing for more experiences where I can see God working through me – overflowing joy is the result. 

Me: Lastly, I’m sure some of my readers will want to pray for you having read this. How can we be praying for you?

Natalie:  I would really appreciate prayer for everything here in Harrogate as I settle into a new role. It’s a beautiful place so if you’ve never visited you definitely should. Please pray for me to find people with who I can be myself around and share life with. Please also pray for the young people that I’m working with that they come to know Jesus and have a longing for a deeper relationship with Him. Finally, that Helen and I can meet up soon. Ta muchly! 

Thank you so much dear Natalie for your time and incredible insight. Harrogate, you’re very privileged to have her!

Until next time,

Helen.

  

Leave a comment